I believe in a thing called Love

Some people argue that Valentines Day is a materialistic holiday created by Hallmark and Hersey. If that’s true, I say good for them – way to be brilliant business people.


However I don’t think it’s true. Valentines Day was created by my Grandma and Grandpa Silvers – sharing over 60 years of love before he passed away and showing their children and grandchildren what love really is – and making us believe in it. Valentines Day was created by the twelve-year-old boys who empty their piggy bank of every last penny just to buy a single rose for the pretty girl who sits in the front row. It was created by dads who send valentines via snail mail to their grown daughters who live alone and far away. Valentines Day was created by the mom who wakes up early to surprise her children with heart-shaped pancakes, and the grandma who hands out candy hearts. Be mine?

Valentines Day was created by my little sister – stopping by the bakery on her way to school to buy her teacher a sweet treat with her own allowance. It was created by my big sister too – sending daisies across the country to remind me how much I’m missed.

It was created by my best friends – making time for each other no matter how far apart we live.

So if you believe this day is just a day to be bitter – I think, you’re believing wrong. Just look around you. In the arms of a mother or in the eyes of a sweet child. Between people who’ve shared a lifetime together and between those who felt butterflies for the very first time. Between friendships and siblings, parents and their children. Or even just in the air. Can you feel it?


1 Comment

Filed under Favorites

One response to “I believe in a thing called Love

Leave a Reply

