The End of an Era

This weekend may be one of the last times that I get to be around all of my college friends before we take off to different towns and states to start making a name for ourselves in this thing you adults call the real world. I am not only excited, but terrified too.

 

When I left home to start college in the fall of 2006 I was scared and sad to say goodbye to my family. I sat in the passenger’s seat of my dad’s car balling my eyes out as I waved to my mom falling apart in the driveway.  I had spent 18 wonderful years under the protective roof on Mud Bay and I was by no means ready to leave my family.

I spent the first few months homesick and missing them. I don’t know how many countless phone calls my mom got that first year. (Thanks mom, you’re amazing!) But as I started to build relationships with new friends and strengthen my relationships with some lifelong friends that attended the same college, I began to feel more and more at home in St. Cloud.

 

Now after five years here, St. Cloud is my home. And the people here, well they are my family. I can’t even begin to describe the love that I have for all of the amazing people I have grown so close to these last few years. It is going to be incredibly hard to leave this place but I know that I will be just fine. Because now –  I have two families and I know that no matter how many miles separate us, we will always be in each other’s lives. I love you guys. And I promise to always keep in touch – and to carry our crazy memories with me forever : )


 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

